Administration

There are 3 parts to administration: system administration, user administration and project administration. Note: The ‘Administration’ menu is visible only to the admins.

As mentioned before, it is important to understand that there are 2 types of administrators in 2-plan Team – the root administrator (the super user) and the client-linked administrator. Only root admin has the rights to create new clients. Root admin also creates other administrators which are assigned to a “Client” and each admin sees only the people (projects…) assigned to this client. This is useful in medium sized companies, where each department or team has its own admin.

System Administration

Typically, this is the first thing that the administrator would be doing once the 2-plan Team application has been installed.

To setup system parameters (locale, time zone, date format, RSS etc):

  • Go to the system administration page (see navigation section for details).
  • Enter the details for system parameters:
    • Name: This is like branding the system and giving it a name that you like.
    • Subtitle: It is again the extension to system name and is displayed on each page.
    • Locale: You can choose the language from the huge list of languages that are supported.
    • Time zone: Since the project elements, activity log and messages etc will bear a time stamp, you will need to ensure that the time is as per the time zone you want.
    • RSS username/password: By specifying username/password for RSS, you can implement the access protection for RSS feeds using HTTP auth.
    • Date format: Specify the date format that you like.
  • Click ‘Send’ to save the details.

To setup email function:

  • Go to the system administration screen (see navigation section for details).
  • Enter the setup details for email:
    • Status (on/off): Whether email function will be enabled (on) or not (off).
    • Sender details i.e. email/name: This information will be displayed as sender information for emails generated by the 2-plan Team system.
    • Method: You can choose from PHP mail and SMTP.
    • Server: Details of the server on which the email functionality is configured.
    • SMTP username and password: Required in order for the mail function to work.
  • Click ‘Send’ to save the details.

User Administration

User administration is the next thing that you would take up as part of initial administration activities. This is where you define the roles and users in order to make them available to the projects that you create on the 2-plan Team platform. So, doing it right is very important.

Note that there are 3 predefined roles available in 2-plan team: admin, customer and user.

First add roles and then users. It is necessary to follow this order because while adding users, you will need to specify their roles too.

To add a role to the 2-plan Team system:

  • Go to the User administration page (see navigation section for details) and scroll down to the Roles section on this page.
  • Click the button ‘Add Role’
  • Or Click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the ‘Roles’ menu bar.

  • Enter a meaningful name for the role.
  • Select the permissions for this role by checking the desired checkboxes.
  • Click ‘Add’ button to add the role to the system.

To edit a role in the 2-plan Team system:

  • Go to the User administration page (see navigation section for details) and scroll down to the Roles section on this page.
  • Click the small down arrow against the role that you want to edit. The role details are displayed.
  • Edit the details for the roles.
  • Click ‘Edit’ button to save the modified details.

To delete a role in the 2-plan Team system:

  • Go to the User administration page (see navigation section for details) and scroll down to the Roles section on this page.
  • Click the ‘x’ sign (delete sign) against the role that you want to delete. You will be asked to confirm deletion.
  • Confirm deletion in order to delete the role.

To add a user in the 2-plan Team system:

  • Go to the User administration page (see navigation section for details).
  • Click the button ‘Add user’
    Or Click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the ‘User administration’ menu bar.
  • Enter the user details:
    • Name: Name of the user
    • Email & Password: Email-id and password are used by the user to login into 2-plan Team.
    • Hourly rate: Billing rates (helps in cost calculations for projects)
    • Projects: Any specific projects that you want the user to be available for.
    • Role: Assign a role to bind the user to permissions.
  • Click ‘Add’ button to add the user to the system.
Only those users who have added to the system by the system administrator will be available for assigning to the projects.

To edit a user or add more user details in the 2-plan Team system:

  • Go to the User administration page (see navigation section for details).
  • Move your move pointer over the user name of the user whose details you want to edit. The context menu will become visible to you with 2 options – ‘Delete’ and ‘Edit’.
  • Choose/click the ‘Edit’ option (the pen sign). You will be taken to the ‘Edit User’ page.
  • Enter the details for the user. Here you can specify a whole lot of details for the user including the avatar, phone, address, gender, locale and tags. You can also change the password for this user.
  • Click ‘Send’ to save the details.

To delete a user from the 2-plan Team system:

  • Go to the User administration page (see navigation section for details).
  • Move your move pointer over the user name of the user you want to delete. The context menu will become visible to you with 2 options – ‘Delete’ and ‘Edit’.
  • Choose/click the ‘Delete’ option (the ‘x’ sign). You will be asked to confirm deletion.
  • Click ‘ok to confirm the deletion.
Delete link will not be available for all users.

Project Administration

A project can be created, edited, deleted or marked as open/closed through project administration page. It is important to note here that while a project can be created, edited and marked as closed by any user, only an administrator can delete or re-open a project.

Project creation and edit has been discussed in the ‘Create a Project’ section later.

To delete a project:

  • Go to the Project administration page (see navigation section for details).
  • Choose/click the ‘Delete’ option (the ‘x’ sign) against the project you want to delete. You will be asked to confirm deletion.
  • Click ‘ok to confirm the deletion.

To re-open a project:

  • Go to the Project administration page (see navigation section for details).
  • Click the ‘Closed projects’ button. The list of closed projects is shown.
  • Choose/click the ‘open’ option (the tick mark) against the project you want to re-open. The project is marked as open and is again shown in the list of open projects.