Create and Set-up a Project

Now that you are comfortable with the 2-plan Team GUI, it is time to move on to quickly create and set-up a project.

Create a Project

2-plan Team allows you to create a project through the ‘Add project’ page.

To create a project:

  • Go to the ‘Desktop’ or ‘My Projects’ view (see the navigation section for details)

Or

  • If you have the administrator rights for the 2-plan Team application, click the link "Administration” in the top menu. The project administration page will be shown.
  • Click the button ‘Add Project’ or Click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the ‘Open projects’ menu bar. The add project page is shown.
  • Specify the name, description, Start date, finish date, plan effort and select the people for the project.
  • Only those people who have been added to the system by the system administrator (using the user administration page) will be available for selecting/assigning to the project.
  • Click ‘Add’ button to add the project.

To edit a project:

  • Go to the ‘Desktop’ or ‘My Projects’ view (see the navigation section for details). Or... If you have the administrator rights for the 2-plan Team application, click the link "Administration” in the top menu. The project administration page will be shown.
  • Click the pen sign against the project you want to edit.
  • Modify the details (name, description, start and end date).
  • Click ‘Send’ button to save the details.
Only an administrator can delete a project.

Once you have created a project, you need to set up the elements of the project in order to make it a meaningful entity.

Users

To assign users to a project:

  • Go to the Users tab of the project (see navigation section)
  • Click the button ‘Add user’

Or

  • Click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the ‘People’ menu bar.
  • Choose a user from the available list (only users of the same ‘Client’ and who have not already been assigned to the project (at the time of project creation) will be shown in the list).
  • Click ‘Add’ button to assign the user to the project.

To de-assign a user from a project:

  • Go to the Users tab of the project (see navigation section). The list of assigned users for that project is displayed.
  • Move your move pointer over the user name of the user you want to de-assign from the project. The context menu will become visible to you with 2 options – ‘Deassign’ and ‘Edit’.
  • Choose/click the ‘Deassign’ option (the ‘x’ sign). You will be taken to a ‘Take User off’ page which will ask you whether you want to reassign the tasks of this user.
  • On the ‘Take user off’ page:
    • If you want to delete the tasks assigned to user, choose the option ‘Delete Tasks’ in the ‘Assign to’ drop down list
    • If you want to assign the tasks to another user, choose the name of the user in the ‘Assign to’ drop down list
    • Click ‘Send’ button to delete/reassign the tasks of the de-assigned user and de-assign the user from the project.
      Or
      Click ‘Cancel’ to do nothing and keep the user assigned to the project.

Milestones

To add milestones to a project:

  • Go to the Milestones tab of the project (see navigation section)
  • Click the button ‘Add milestone’ (or click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the ‘Milestones’ menu bar)
  • Enter the details of milestone (name, description, due date and whether it is an external milestone).
  • Click ‘Add’ button to add the milestone to the project.

To delete a milestone from a project:

  • Go to the Milestones tab of the project (see navigation section). The list of milestones for that project is displayed.
  • Click the ‘x’ sign against the milestone you want to delete. You will get a pop-up asking for your confirmation.
  • Confirm milestone deletion to delete the milestone.

To edit a milestone:

  • Go to the Milestones tab of the project (see navigation section). The list of milestones for that project is displayed.
  • 2Click the ‘pen’ sign against the milestone you want to edit.
  • Edit milestone details.
  • Click ‘Send’ button to save the edited details

Workpackages

It is worth mentioning here that 2-plan Team distinguishes workpackages from tasks. So, when you create your WBS, you actually list down only the workpackages. And your team will then break each workpackage into tasks, distribute it among themselves and collaborate through 2-plan team in order to complete the tasks (and hence the workpackage). As mentioned before, this also helps you do away with the project micro-management and your team will find this more fun.

To add workpackages to a project:

  • Go to the workpackages tab of the project (see navigation section)
  • 2Click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the ‘Workpackages’ menu bar
  • Enter the details of workpackage (name, description, plan effort, start date, finish date, responsible person, and choose the milestone to which you want to link this workpackage).
  • Click ‘Add’ button to add the workpackage to the project.

To delete a workpackage from a project:

  • Go to the workpackages tab of the project (see navigation section). The list of workpackages for that project is displayed.
  • 2Click the ‘x’ sign against the workpackage you want to delete. You will get a pop-up asking for your confirmation.
  • Confirm workpackage deletion to delete the workpackage.

To edit a workpackage:

  • Go to the workpackages tab of the project (see navigation section). The list of workpackages for that project is displayed.
  • Click the ‘pen’ sign against the workpackage you want to edit.
  • Edit workpackage details.
  • Click ‘Send’ button to save the edited details

Tasks

One big advantage of using 2-plan Desktop and 2-plan Team together is that you can build your WBS (workpackages) in 2-plan Desktop and then export these workpackages to 2-plan Team so that your team members can further synthesize each workpackage into tasks and collaborate effectively to complete the workpackages. And when you want the status of workpackages, you can upload it back into 2-plan desktop from 2-plan Team.

Note that the status of workpackages is computed as percentage of forecasted effort actually spent. So, you would always know the exact status of the workpackages (and also the project completion).

To add task to a workpackage:

  • Go to the workpackages tab of the project (see navigation section). You would see the list of workpackages (each workpackage is displayed as a sub-section) and the tasks for each workpackage are specified under it.
  • Go to the workpackage sub-section of the workpackage to which you want to add tasks.
  • Click the ‘+’ sign that is displayed in the header menu bar of that particular workpackage
    Or
    Click the ‘Add task’ button under the workpackage subsection of the workpackage for which you want to add task.
  • Enter the details of task (title, text, due date, effort to complete, and priority) and choose the person to whom you want to assign this task. Note: Due date of the task must be before the workpackage date.
  • Click ‘Add’ button to add the task to the workpackage.
In a similar way, can also add tasks through the portfolio dashboard main page or the ‘My Tasks’ tab of the portfolio dashboard.

To delete a task from a workpackage:

  • Go to the workpackage sub-section of the workpackage for which you want to delete a task (see navigation section)
  • Click the ‘x’ sign against the task you want to delete. You will get a pop-up asking for your confirmation.
  • Confirm task deletion to delete the task.

To edit a task:

  • Go to the workpackage sub-section of the workpackage for which you want to delete a task (see navigation section)
    OR
    Go to the portfolio dashboard main page or the ‘My Tasks’ tab of the portfolio dashboard.
  • Click the ‘pen’ sign against the task you want to edit.
  • Edit task details.
  • Click ‘Send’ button to save the edited details